Understanding the Historic (One-Year) Lectionary

The lectionary is a set of readings that establish the various seasons of the Christian Church Year. The Historic Lectionary follows a one-year cycle that retains the traditional order of Epistle and Gospel readings used by Lutherans before the adoption of the newer three-year lectionaries. This lectionary is “historic” in that it has been used by many Lutherans since the sixteenth century and that it reflects much of what was common in the medieval practice inherited by the Lutheran reformers. The Latin names are retained for many of the Sundays. This post is designed to be an aid in understanding the Sunday-names used in the Historic Lectionary. Continue reading

Winter/St. Lucy Ember Days Soon Upon Us

Sant Crux, Lucia, Cineres, Charismata Dia
Ut sit in angaria quarta sequens feria.

Which for those of us who don’t think in Latin:

Holy Cross, Lucy, Ash Wednesday, Pentecost,
are when the quarter holidays follow.

The handy shortcut for remembering the holidays that herald the Ember Days is “Lucy, Ashes, Dove, and Cross.”

St. Lucy

December 13, the commemoration of St. Lucy, is the herald for the winter quatember, the Ember Days of winter. This year the Days fall on December 15, 17, and 18.  The Ember Days give us opportunity to focus on repentance. Some  observe the days with fasting, prayer, and almsgiving. Some congregations will offer individual confession and absolution on one or more of the days.

To find out more about the Sicilian saint Lucy, you can go here, or here.

To find out more about Ember Days, and their observance in a Lutheran context, you can check out the post What are Ember Days?